Thursday, January 10, 2008

ACT Invitational XI vs India 2nd Warm-up match: Squad of India team

Indian most sensation player MS Dhoni will lead his side in the second ACT Invitational XI vs India warm up match on Thurday 10 January, 2008. Ahead of this match, Indian selectors have been rested most of the Indian key players. This match will continue till Friday 11. ACT Invitational vs India tour match will take place at Manuka Oval, Canberra. It will begin at 10:30 local time and 23:30 GMT time.

With the issue of Harbhajan Singh’s three Tests ban by ICC referee Mike Procter, who allegedly convicted for racial abuse against Andrew Symonds and horrendous umpiring by Steve Bucknor in the second Test at Sydney, BCCI ordered India team to stay at Sydney and a rumor arose that India will abandoned Test series.

ICC chief executive Malcolm Speed has officially replaced Steve Bucknor with New Zealander Billy Bowden. However, Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh has been clearly to play pending his hearing.

Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Anil Kumble are now in rest.

It is the most important match for both out-form batsmen Wasim Jaffer and Yuvraj Singh to prove their place in the main squad of the third Test.

Virender Sehwag has also got chance in this squad. His performance in this match will tell that he will be eligible for taking place in the main squad. Pankaj Singh and VRV Singh are two new players in the warm up squad. Anyone will be picked between them in the warm up match. It is not sure who will be selected. Dinesh Karthik and Irfan Pathan are the in-form player in this 12-men squad. No doubt, they will show their best game in this match and take place in the main squad.

Australian left-arm opener Matthew Hayden is now suffering from thigh injury. And he may be left-out from the third Test at WACA. So, it is thought that Western Australian opener Chris Rogers will be replaced in this position. So, this warm up match doesn’t only a warm up match to you. It is a great opportunity to prove himself for Australia’s opening position.

Now, look at below where you can see squad of both teams at a glance-

Indian squad: 1 Wasim Jaffer, 2 Virender Sehwag, 3 Rahul Dravid, 4 Yuvraj Singh, 5 Dinesh Karthik, 6 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt, wk), 7 Irfan Pathan, 8 Harbhajan Singh, 9 VRV Singh, 10 Pankaj Singh, 11 Ishant Sharma, 12 RP Singh.

ACT Invitational XI squad: Mark Higgs (capt), Jonathon Dean, John Rogers, Randall Starr, James Crosthwaite, Adam Ritchard, Richard Sherlock, Luke Swards, Ryan Bulger, Chris Rogers, Ed Cowan, Ash Perera.

No comments: