Monday, July 14, 2008

India in Sri Lanka 2008: Test squad of India team

Indian cricket team will tour to Sri Lanka to play a three-match Test series very soon later of this month which is scheduled to start from 23rd July, 2008 to 12th August. Ahead of the Test series, Indian cricket board has announced a 16-member squad led by leg-spinner Anil Kumble. Two uncapped players Rohit Sharma and Pragyan Ojha have been included. Both these two young stats have caught the attention of national selectors showing their superb performance in the inaugural IPL. Indian ODI captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has opted out from Test series because of his tiredness. Selectors have chosen two specialist wicket-keepers Dinesh Karthik and Parthiv Patel. Gautam Gambhir has won the opener’s slot ahead of Wasim Zaffer. Indian pace spearhead Zaheer Khan has come back from injury. The interesting thing is that selectors have picked Indian batting trio Sachin Tendulkar-Sourav Ganguly-Rahul Dravid. For the first time, Indian Test captain Anil Kumble is giving more priority of spin bowler especially mystery bowler Ajantha Mendis after India dismissed in the final match of Asia Cup 2008. It makes you laugh because where no one great bowler could do it ever against Indian strong batting line up. The good news is that Indian experienced spin bowler Harbhajan Singh has been included after finishing his five one-day match ban. Everyone is just excited to know that can Indian strong batting line up beat mystery bowler Ajantha Mendis.

Squad of India team: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, VVS Laxman, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Parthiv Patel (wk), Anil Kumble (capt), Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, Zaheer Khan, RP Singh, Munaf Patel, Pragyan Ojha.

Enjoyed reading- Why not subscribe to the feed of the blog?

No comments: