Sunday, July 6, 2008

Asia Cup 2008 Final: Squad of India & Sri Lanka team

Both India and Sri Lanka are busy to take their last minute preparation ahead of the Asia Cup final. Only few hours are left to be held the final match between India and Sri Lanka. Both these two opponent teams will face each other at the National Stadium, Karachi. This match is scheduled to begin from 16:00 local time (10:00 GMT). Batting seems the main strength of India team. Top six Indian batsmen- Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Rohit Sharma and Yuvraj Singh- are in top form. Depending on their bat India posted totals in excess of 300 runs in four of its five matches. Indian ODI captain MS Dhoni is expecting to provide another solid platform so that the middle order batsmen are under less pressure.

Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardene is confident enough to get the title once again. Sri Lanka will look to their new spinning sensation Ajantha Mendis along with prolific off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan to defend its Asia Cup title against India on Sunday. No doubt, it is expected to see a hard clash between strong batting line up vs destructive bowling action. Their past glorious record where spinners Upul Chandana and Sanath Jayasuriya led Sri Lanka a 25-run win over India in the 2004 Asia Cup final in Colombo will encourage them to repeat it once again.

To snatch the title, they should select their best players in their main squad. However, I am giving squad of both teams in below:-

Squad of India team: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Robin Uthappa, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Praveen Kumar, R.P. Singh, Ishant Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Pragyan Ojha, Manpreet Gony.

Squad of Sri Lanka team: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Kumar Sangakkara, Sanath Jayasuriya, Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedera, Ajantha Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekera, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Thilan Thushara, Kaushal Weeraratne, Dilhara Fernando, Mahela Udawatte, Jehan Mubarak.

Enjoyed reading- Why not subscribe to the feed of the blog?

No comments: