Tuesday, June 10, 2008

India vs Pakistan tri-nation ODI match 2008: India defeated Pakistan by 140 runs

Just now the second ODI match of tri-nation series between India and Pakistan finished where India team beat their old foe Pakistan team by 140 runs. India team collapsed Pakistan within 190 runs in just 35.4 overs. Both India and Pakistan are now 1-1 equal.
Winning the toss, Indian captain MS Dhoni elected to bat first and pounding 330 run rate of 6.6 on a slow pitch rounding off a thumping win in their opening match of the Kitply Cup. Seems it was the worst defeat for Pakistan team against India and batting performance may be disappointed new coach Geoff Lawson.
The huge total was made possible not only by one but three top order batsmen: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj Singh. These three batsmen scored half-century and helped their team to set India in a safe place. Virender Sehwag scored the highest run for his team. He again showed his aggressive mood after scoring quick 89 runs off just facing 76 balls including 13 boundaries and one six. In his way of 62, Gautam Gambhir got two lives by Younis Khan when he was 4 and 29. Yuvraj Singh’s 55 raised a vision of a 375 plus total.
Pakistan used four pacers in this match but they were useless in this sluggish pitch where only slow-arm medium pacers could get some facilities. Fast bowler Uamr Gul claimed three wickets. Young pacer Wahab Riaz was so costly. He got two for 86.
Pakistan team fall under pressure when they lost 3 wickets within 26 runs. Praveen Kumar got all these wickets. This bowler finished his job taking 4 wickets for 53 runs. After Praveen, this is Piyush Chawla who dismissed lower order batting line up claiming four wickets. No one could protest Indian bowlers except skipper Shoaib Malik who scored half-century. Opening batsman cum wicket keeper Kamran tried his best with the bat. Being their defeat, Pakistan team will fight against India in the final round.
India will play their second and last ODI against host Bangladesh on 12th June, 2008 the same ground. No doubt, India is favourite. But host team’s fans hope to see any upset.

No comments: