Thursday, December 13, 2007

India's Tour of Australia 2007-08: Sydney Cricket Ground

India’s cricket match is always carries special thing. And it doesn’t need to see who is playing against India team. India vs. any opponents’ team can increase the attraction and make the excitement in the series. However, most of you already now that Indian team will leave for Australia to play four Test matches at the end of this year including a triangular ODI series with host Australia and Sri Lanka. However, India vs. Australia Test series will start from 26th December to till 24th January where second Test will take place at Sydney Cricket Ground on January 2, 2008. If you are fan of Indian or Australian cricket team and know a little bit about this game then you should excited to know about the SCG (Sydney Cricket Ground) venue.

Sydney Cricket Ground is one of the world most famous cricketing venues which is situated in the east of Moore Park. Alongside the Test cricket it is used for One Day International cricket, Australia Rules Football and rugby union matches. It is the home ground for the New South Wales Blues cricket team and the Sydney Swans of the Australian Football League. It is the major ground in Sydney for Cricket and Australian Rules Football. It is owned and operated by the SCG Trust that also manages Sydney Football Stadium located next door. It is established at 1848 but until 1877 there was not played any cricket match. In 1879 the first official cricket game (first-class inter-colonial match) was played between NSW and Victoria. The SCG hosted its first Test cricket match beginning on 17 February 1882, when Australia played against England in the sixth ever Test match. Australia won the game by 5 wickets. Before 1886 it was well-known as a Members' Pavilion. It was rebuilt in 1886 and in 1894 the ground finally received its modern name Sydney Cricket Ground. Since then it has been developed time and time to become great stadium. It has 44,000 thousands sitting capacity. It was built after Sydney Football Stadium. Even it was the major venue for Rugby League with the Grand Final at the ground for many years. The ground has five main stands including two historic stands, the members and ladies stands. In its early incarnations, the pitch was favorable for batting and many mammoth scores were produced. The highest of these was compiled in the 1929-30 season, when Sir Donald Bradman made his celebrated personal best of 452* for New South Wales in a match against Queensland. It is called the paradise for spinners. So, spinners should get more support. It doesn’t need to say that slow bowlers will not get benefit. West Indian batting great Brian Lara scored his masterful 277 in 1992-93 and paceman Fanie De Villiers haul 10 for 123 at the forefront of South Africa's amazing five run win in 1993-94 underlining the point.

Enjoyed reading- Why not subscribe to the feed of the blog?

No comments: